The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett by Chelsea Sedoti

A 60 Second Review by Anne Brees
Publication Date: January 1st, 2017
★★★☆☆ (2.50)
Genre – Young Adult Contemporary

Summary – Hawthorn wasn’t trying to insert herself into a missing person’s 25546710investigation. Or maybe she was. But that’s only because Lizzie Lovett’s disappearance is the one fascinating mystery their sleepy town has ever had. Bad things don’t happen to popular girls like Lizzie Lovett, and Hawthorn is convinced she’ll turn up at any moment—which means the time for speculation is now.

So Hawthorn comes up with her own theory for Lizzie’s disappearance. A theory way too absurd to take seriously…at first. The more Hawthorn talks, the more she believes. And what better way to collect evidence than to immerse herself in Lizzie’s life? Like getting a job at the diner where Lizzie worked and hanging out with Lizzie’s boyfriend. After all, it’s not as if he killed her—or did he?

Initial Thoughts – I received this book from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. In short, this book confused me. I felt like the book was confused too.
Plot – ★★☆☆☆ The “theory” that Hawthorn comes up with is simply ridiculous. I did not believe it for a second. However, I hoped that Hawthorn would be right in the end and add some twist, but she wasn’t. This book was similar to many that I have read, in which the MC believes the goddess popular girl couldn’t possibly have emotions and then they find out that (gasp) they do.
Characters – ★★★☆☆ I really did not connect with Hawthorn at all. A girl has gone missing, but Hawthorn makes insensitive and rude comments about her with no respect for Lizzie or the people mourning her. She uses Lizzie’s disappearance for her own entertainment. I understand that she was lonely, yet it sickens me.
Story world – ★★★☆☆ I think the story world added a lot to the confusion with the book. I felt like it wanted to be a fantasy novel, but wasn’t, so it chose something between the two.
Style – ★★☆☆☆ Hawthorn’s voice irritated me. I think Sedoti  was going for a personal and honest narrative, but I just found her insensitive.
Closing Thoughts – This book left me unsatisfied and unimpressed.
Recommendation – Recommended for lovers of quirky fiction, unpopular heroines, and confusion.

(summary and cover from GoodReads)
Leave a Reply

