Wink Poppy Midnight by April Genevieve Tucholke

A 60 Second Review by Anne Brees
★★★☆☆ (3.25)
Genre – Young Adult Contemporary

Summary – Every story needs a hero.23203106
Every story needs a villain.
Every story needs a secret.

Wink is the odd, mysterious neighbor girl, wild red hair and freckles. Poppy is the blond bully and the beautiful, manipulative high school queen bee. Midnight is the sweet, uncertain boy caught between them. Wink. Poppy. Midnight. Two girls. One boy. Three voices that burst onto the page in short, sharp, bewitching chapters, and spiral swiftly and inexorably toward something terrible or tricky or tremendous.

What really happened?
Someone knows.
Someone is lying.

Initial Thoughts – This book…I don’t think I got it. Maybe I did, and it just didn’t affect me in the way it affected others. I don’t know. I have a lot of mixed feelings.
Plot – ★★☆☆☆ There really wasn’t much of a plot, at all. The first part of the book is just giving background, and there really is only one event that happens the entire time. The book just felt like a reaction to the single event.
Characters – ★★★☆☆ The characters were okay. I found Poppy the most interesting, yet I didn’t really relate to any of them. The ending twisted my opinion, but it still didn’t make me connect with them.
Story world – ★★★☆☆ The story world was pretty average. There’s really not much I can add that stood out.
Style – ★★★★★ This is by far the best part of the novel. Tucholke created a haunting and eerie narrative that kept me reading when the plot didn’t.
Closing Thoughts – This book had a good theme: good vs. evil and how the impressions you have of people can be wrong. I just felt like it was a lot of unnecessary story to portray that theme.
Recommendation – Recommended for lovers of haunting style, misconceptions, and deeper themes.

(summary and cover from GoodReads)
Leave a Reply

