Half Lost by Sally Green

A 60 Second Review by Anne Brees

(This is the third book in the Half Bad Trilogy. You can also  find my review of the first book, Half Bad, and the second book, Half Wild. Spoilers below.)

★★★★★ (4.75)
Genre – Young Adult Fantasy

Summary – This is the final battle.20814993
The Alliance is losing the war, and their most critical weapon, seventeen-year-old witch Nathan Byrn, is losing his mind. Nathan’s tally of kills is rising, and yet he’s no closer to ending the tyrannical rule of the Council of White Witches in England. Nor is Nathan any closer to his personal goal: getting revenge on Annalise, the girl he once loved before she committed an unthinkable crime. An amulet protected by the extremely powerful witch Ledger could be the tool Nathan needs to save himself and the Alliance, but this amulet is not so easily acquired. And lately Nathan has started to suffer from visions: a vision of a golden moment when he dies, and of an endless line of Hunters, impossible to overcome. Gabriel, his closest companion, urges Nathan to run away with him, to start a peaceful life together. But even Gabriel’s love may not be enough to save Nathan from this war, or from the person he has become.

Initial Thoughts – I was really excited to start this book, because I loved the other two books in the series.
Plot – ★★★★★ This  book kept me turning the pages. I never was bored while I watched Nathan and the Alliance prepare for war, all while Nathan made things more complicated than they needed to be.
Characters – ★★★★★ I absolutely love Nathan and Gabriel, even though they are complete opposites. Nathan is a very complicated character, with good intentions hidden beneath twisted morals and agendas. Gabriel is truthful and sweet, all the way through. And yet, those two get along perfectly.
Story world – ★★★★★ I love the story world in this series. As I mentioned before, Green has the talent of sneaking in the setting without the reader actually realizing it. I can still picture the scenes were the novels took place.
Style – ★★★★☆  Green’s style still isn’t flawless in my opinion. I adore how we are stuck completely in Nathan’s head, however, there were times when I felt like the writing pulled me out of the story.
Closing Thoughts – This ending was everything I could have wanted. It tied up all loose ends and left me feeling satisfied. Broken, but satisfied.
Recommendation – Recommended for those who wants a fast paced adventure, and then their hearts ripped out.

(summary and cover from GoodReads)
Leave a Reply

