5 Tips for Motivating Yourself While Writing

Most days, you don’t really want to write. You know you should and you know you’ll feel better after you do, but you don’t want to. There’s Netflix and social media and that really good book you just started reading and all the other things that you have to do. Everyone can use a little motivation for writing. Here’s five ways to help yourself want to write.

  1. Try timing your writing. This is my favorite way to get myself to write a lot quickly. I set the timer for five minutes and write as quickly as I can. My goal used to be about 300 words, but with practicing my typing and my writing, I’ve been able to increase my goal to 1000 words. You simply have to write as quickly as you can for five minutes, without pausing the timer to answer your phone or check social media. Five minutes to just write with no interruptions. Understand that the speed writing you use here probably isn’t going to be quality, but you can edit it into perfection later. Just get the words out for now.
  2. Bribe yourself word by word. Sometimes if I simply don’t have the focus for timing my writing, I bribe myself with food. I can have a bit of chocolate after every 100 words. It makes my writing go faster and the words add up quickly. I wouldn’t recommend giving yourself a prize that can easily distract you. Don’t allow yourself five minutes of social media, because that can quickly turn into five hours.
  3. Bribe yourself goal by goal. In case you can’t tell, I’m big on bribing yourself. Instead of giving yourself a little prize for a little goal, give yourself a bigger prize for a big goal. Once you finish a chapter, maybe you can watch that episode you want to. Once you finish all of your outlining, you can finish that book you’ve been reading.
  4. Summarize what you are writing that day. If you are a pantser, it can be intimidating at times to just start writing. Especially if you know it’s an important scene. In informal voice, just figure out what you are going to be writing that day. It can be a few sentences or a few paragraphs. Giving yourself a direction to go can help get you started and make you more eager to write.
  5. Write something with your characters, but not your novel. Instead of writing a scene that is part of your novel, write a story about all of your characters going to a theme park or just hanging out at each others’ houses. You might discover things about your character that you didn’t know and be motivated to combine that into your novel.

What do you use to motivate yourself while writing?

One thought on “5 Tips for Motivating Yourself While Writing

Leave a Reply

